Posted version to a few blog comments/forums…

I am new at all this – partner to a wife recently diagnosed with bipolar disorder 2. I happen to be a family physician, which actually seems to complicate our relationship as ‘life partners’ during this scary time.  We both have many questions, doubts and worries.  I need help / support – we both do.  I also seek clarity to navigate this minefield of symptoms, emotions and treatments.  This is why I started this blog.  It’s already been helpful, just to get my thoughts and feelings clearer, but I want more. Like many bloggers have noted, public feedback and questions promote sharing ideas and support – so spread the word.  For now, my focus has been on the current severe depression (episode 2), and an awakening from the denial slumber.  Hopefully, as my wife’s insight strengthens, she may join me on the blog to provide her perspective as a newly diagnosed couple / family, dealing with bipolar disorder 2 / cyclothymia.

Here’s my current question – does anyone have any thoughts on the advantages with disclosing diagnosis with specific friends / family (incl kids)?  It’s obviously a personal decision and from what others have written, clearly dependant on ones own stage of acceptance and timing in the relationship.  I accept it requires working through issues of stigma, identity and even paranoia, which I have discovered is fairly common.  Since working through this stuff is so challenging, I wonder whether the benefits of ‘coming out’ justify the efforts and if so, then gaining a deeper understanding of the benefits of disclosure, can only help sufferers reach that point sooner, to receive those benefits sooner.

Looking forward to your responses…
