Tags

, , , , , ,

I recently read a comment on another person’s blog, describing their blog as a ‘virtual’ living room.  We invite readers into our lives, to share our pain and celebrate our successes, and everything in between.  I haven’t posted anything for some time, so my ‘living room’ has been a boring place to visit. It’s not that I haven’t had anything to write about, but mainly a challenge to find time when I’m not working, driving, eating or sleeping, or too hungry, too busy or too tired to write.

Actually, there’s another possibility – that life is perfect and there’s nothing worth writing about. For me at least, this is not true, but I couldn’t help reflecting on this idea recently when I was checking out a couple of other blogs. As a reader who’s is currently dealing with mental health challenges in the family, I am most interested in reading about how others with similar struggles managed to hold their relationships together and hopefully learn from their experiences. When the writer of a ‘journalling’ blog has periods of less posts or quiet on their mental health difficulties, is this an indication that everything is stable and going well??  I guess for their sake, we hope so, but as I described for me, this is not yet the case.

For me, even in the short time since I started blogging, I’ve found it very therapeutic. I view it a bit like art therapy, where the screen is my canvas and words are my paints. I have noted that many other bloggers have described similar effects for themselves. This has got me thinking… as the burden of suffering from mental health conditions continues to grow beyond the availability (incl cost considerations) of appropriate therapy options in many parts of the US and the rest of world, the potential for anyone with access to the internet to start journalling online could be very exciting. This probably partly explains the relative explosion in the number of new blogs coming online each week.

So I’ve decided that this ‘blogging therapy’ seems like an interesting topic to distract me from becoming overly focussed on analyzing every little development in my wife’s recovery. I must acknowledge though, that there has been a significant shift in our relationship as her mood state stabilized and the way she relates to accepting her condition is much more healthy compared to a couple weeks ago.

So when I’m not sharing every journalling exercise we do as we develop a management plan, maybe you can assume that thankfully our life is on a smooth section of the healing journey. I’ll try use these periods to share discoveries from my research into a blogging therapy facilitation service concept. As usual, I invite any suggestions or feedback on this concept or anything helpful about my family’s healing journey.

Hubby

