Tags

, , , , ,

Note: I started writing this ‘milestone post’ last week, but I got distracted with virtual exhibitionism and voyeurism. Since then, 13 followers added – YAH!

On the occasion of reaching a 50-blog-followers milestone (currently 63, with 1684 views), I would like to reflect on something I’ve been thinking about the last couple weeks.

It’s been nearly 3 months since I started blogging regularly.  As I described here, my primary rationale for blogging was to combine personal journalling, with reaching out to others, to help navigate my marriage and family through my wife’s emotional health crisis.  I have connected with some amazing people and discovered the incredible potential of the blogosphere community.

I have learned many great blogging tips from fellow bloggers (such as Vic, Natasha & others) always keen to help new bloggers like me.  I realized very quickly, that the greater the interaction with others via comments, increases the impact of emotional health benefits and support from blogging.  Hence, what I’m referring to as “The Follower Chase“.

Obviously, new bloggers are adviced to be patient, it takes time, focus on the content of your posts, comment on other people’s posts, participate in Meet & Greets etc etc.  I admit, many of these great suggestions are covered in the WordPress blogging courses, which I may still do one day.  BUT to be honest, I wasn’t looking to become a ‘blogger’.  I’ll even admit, I was even considering paying someone to be ‘ghost writer’ on social media to fast-track my Follower Chase process, because I don’t have the time or focus to be distracted by that, just like Dyane inferred for herself in the past and mentioned again recently.

I should also clarify that it’s the blogosphere comments interaction that provides the greatest likelihood of benefit from the blogging experience, so reaching a few hundred followers (and Likes – who doesn’t like ‘Likes’?), is really just a ‘means to an end’.  One blogger suggested to me that, generally one would need 400+ followers to consistently expect meaningful feedback and dialogue.  That’s likely to take many months, for most new bloggers.

I am not saying that I haven’t benefited immensely from the interaction I’ve had with ‘only’ 63 followers, but it’s naturally variable.  Also, I am not complaining that those who have read my posts haven’t commented enough – we’re all busy, got many interesting blogs to read and not every post inspires a comment.  But I am thinking that there may be an alternative model, within the blogosphere, to achieve the ‘blogging therapy’ benefits faster, without a Follower Chase, and without need for social media.

This concept has triggered a bunch of ideas in my mind, but I am wondering if my description of the issue makes any sense to anyone else (COMMENTS PLEASE – LOL).  Even if no-one comments 😦 ,  it’s not surprisingly that writing these thoughts out has already helped get some greater clarity.

Final note: I realize everyone tends to forget, that when starting something new, not to compare themselves to those who have been at it for some time (see below).  This advice is great for new bloggers, who want to be bloggers, but I should emphasize that I am proposing an alternate blogosphere reality, parallel to the current standard path, specifically for blogging therapy.  In this way, I am not trying to find a shortcut to someone else’s MIDDLE, but actually creating a new path that never existed before, to a different destination.

"Don't compare your beginning to someone else's middle." - Jon Acuff

 

 

 

 

