Have you ever sat in front of a blank computer screen and the flashing cursor actually starts ‘speaking to you’:

“What are you waiting for?  Write something.  Anything! Get on with it. What’s wrong with you? Why so slow today?”

This is how I felt this morning – The ‘talking’ cursor made me question, am I going crazy?  But it also reminded me of hearing something similar from a Jerry Seinfield joke-writing process interview, below:


NOW, after that unrelated introduction, I did seriously visit a psychiatrist.  This was motivated by repeated advice not to forget looking after my own emotional health, given the relationship and family stress, and prompting by my wife to explore whether I also have a ‘diagnosis’, so she didn’t have to feel the only one ‘labelled’.  Bottom line, at least for now, psychiatrist didn’t find a recognizable condition, but emphasized that doesn’t mean “I perfect/normal” (noone is) and that our relationship would likely benefit from couple therapy (and possibly individual therapy for me too).

“Where’s the jokes?”, I hear you asking…

Discussions with my wife, after my encounter with the psychiatrist have been quite light-hearted and borderline funny.  For example, when my wife made me freshly sqeezed orange juice, I was so full of appreciation that I started thanking her repeatedly, like a broken record, asking, “Did I thank you yet for making me that OJ?”.  Silly, I know… but my wife casually responded with “I think you have OCD” (Inaccurate, and sterotypical, I know) – continually ‘checking’ whether I said thank you yet.

My reply: “YEH!  Obsessive Compliment Disorder”.  My feeble attempt at humor.

OCD - Eye Doctor Source: johnnyoptimism.blogspot.co.il


  • If I had a penny for every time someone said I have OCD, I’d have 967274 pence
  • So a man calls the OCD hotline and says
    Man: I need help i have OCD
    OCD-Hotline: If you would like to speak to a representative please press 1 until you feel satisfied.
    Man: *1111-1111-1111-1111-1111-1111-1111-1111…

Source: sickipedia.org & uk.answers.yahoo.com

  • True story from InnerDragon:  This just happened to me! I was in a public restroom with one other lady. She was taking a very long time to wash her hands which I noticed because she was washing before me and only just finished as I was finishing my own hand wash. We dried our hands at separate hand dryers (no paper towels in this restroom). Then the funny thing happened!!!   Neither of us left the restroom!!! I kept stalling and waiting for her to be the one to open the door. I smoothed my hair down, I re-centered my collar, I fluffed up my sweater neckline. She was doing the same bloody thing!!! LOL Finally enough time passed that I just couldn’t stall any longer! I went into the open stall and grabbed some toilet paper and used it to the open the bathroom handle and she exclaimed, “I do that too!!!” I laughed and said “Yeah, there are no paper towels!” And she said, “I know, that’s why I hate the bathrooms that have hand blow dryers!” At the next set of doors, I used my elbow to push the lever down and she said again, “I do that too!!!”  😀 I said, “Yay, I’m not alone!” And raised my hands up like I was celebrating a victory. Then we parted ways into the crowd of the coffee shop. Source.
  • For a nice article about OCD and Humor, from PsychCentral, click here

 

Source: wanna-joke.com

 

 

 

